Dr. Madhab C. Das

Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur      

Voice:     +91-3222-282894
E-Mail:   mcdas[at]


  • PhD (Chemistry): Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Kanpur  (Advisor: Prof. P. K. Bharadwaj)

  • MS  (Chemistry): Vidyasagar University

  • BS (Chemistry): Midnapore College

Professional Experience

  • Aug, 2019- : Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur (India)

  • Dec, 2013 : Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur (India)

  • 2012-2013 : JSPS Postdoc Fellow at Kyoto University with Prof. H. Kitagawa (Japan)

  • 2011-2012 : Postdoc Fellow at University of Calgary with Prof. G. Shimizu (Canada)

  • 2009-2011 : Postdoc Fellow at The University of Texas at San Antonio with Prof. B. Chen (USA)

Awards & Honors

  • Member of The National Academy of Sciences, India (2022)

  • ‘Stellar Reviewer’ of ‘Inorganic Chemistry’ (Inorg. Chem. 2021, 60, 14489−14490).

  • Early Career Research Award by Science and Engineering Research Board (2015)

  • JSPS Post Doctoral Research Fellowship (Japan) for FY 2012−13

  • A one-time merit award for the excellent research performance at The University of Texas at San Antonio (2011)

Invited Seminars & Talks

  • Oct 2019: Paris (EuroMOF-2019, 3rd International Conference on Metal Organic Frameworks and Porous Polymers)

  • May 2019: ICEFN & SEM -2019 (Kumaun University)

  • Mar 2019: Berhampur University, Odisha, India (IC-CBSDD-2019)

  • Mar 2019: Bankura University, WB (Int. Year of Periodic Table: IYPT- 2019)

  • July 2018: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Thiruvananthapuram (ISAFM)

  • Mar 2018: Indian Association for the Cultivation Of Science (FIC-II)

  • Dec 2017: IISER Pune & NCL Pune (MTIC-XVII, PUNE)

  • Dec 2017: Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (ICN:3I-2017)

  • Mar 2017: Berhampur University, Odisha (IC-RTCBSMNPDD-2017)

  • Oct 2016: IIT Kanpur (Recent Trends in Inorganic and Supramolecular Chemistry)

  • Feb 2015: Berhampur University, Odisha (IC-IACPT-2015)